top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndyH

Edm.DateTime error on update


A watch and calendar

While working with reading and writing to a list I came across the error with 'Edm.DateTime'.


I received this error when attempting to update a list item:

Cannot convert a primitive value to the expected type 'Edm.DateTime'.

Very simple issue and resolution. I had a data model that referred to a list containing a column of type date and time in SharePoint. When reading from this list my model had been set up with string data types for the most part and a date would come through fine under this circumstance.


When writing back to a list the data type needed to be Date instead. Changing this in the model and my update worked fine. Obvious really.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page